Healthy Eating Pyramid

Healthy Eating Pyramid

Healthy Eating Pyramid Update

Nutrition Australia's Healthy Eating Pyramid has been updated to include a fresh take on messages about nutrition and healthy eating, as well as a new look.

The 2015 Healthy Eating Pyramid illustrates the recommended types and proportions of food that an average Australian should eat in one day. It covers the five core food groups and encourages eating whole foods and minimally-processed foods. The pyramid also stresses the importance of limiting sugar and salt intake.

Nutrition Australia's pyramid has continuously changed over the years so that it can continue to encourage Australians to eat a varied and balanced diet.

The Healthy Eating pyramid has been updated to better reflect and follow the current Australian Dietary Guidelines; however, it still maintains the original messages of:

  • enjoying a variety of foods from the five food groups
  • choosing mostly plant-based foods
  • limiting added saturated fats, sugar and salt
  • choosing water as your main drink.

What's changed?

Defined food groups

Previously, the pyramid was split into three layers: eat more, eat moderately and eat in small amounts. The updated pyramid now splits up these layers to include the food groups:

  • eat more – vegetables and legumes, fruit and grains
  • eat moderately – milk, cheese, yoghurt and alternative dairy products, lean meat, poultry, fish, eggs, nuts, seeds and legumes
  • eat in small amounts – healthy fats only

Strengthened 'limited added sugar' message

'Added sugar' has been removed from the top layer in the new Pyramid. Instead a 'limited added sugar' message has been added to the 'salt shaker' area to convey the importance of limiting added sugars as well as salt.

This change has allowed the top layer of the pyramid to be changed to 'healthy fats only' to help promote the message that small amounts of unsaturated fats are also important for good health.

Removed the physical activity layer

The 'Move more' layer, which was added in 2004, has been removed from the 2015 pyramid. This change has led to the pyramid being renamed from Healthy Living pyramid to Healthy Eating pyramid, to ensure the focus on healthy food and nutrition remains the key focus.